Next Tuesday, Feb. 22 six students will be featured in the a college's annual C. Henry Smith Peace Oratorical Contest.  At 7 p.m. in the Umble Center each participating student will deliver an eight to ten minute extemporaneous speech based on a chosen theme of peace.

SaeJin Lee’s speech is titled “Rethinking SST: Beyond a three-months-long requirement to a life-long commitment of intercultural intentionality.”  Lee is a fifth-year senior with a Bible and religion and art double major. Her speech will focus on cultural diversity on campus.

Jeffery Moore's speech is titled “The games we play: How labeling leads to violence.” Moore is a sophomore communication major.  His speech will explore ways of dealing with oppression, intolerance and discrimination.

Madi Ouedraogo’s speech is titled “TESOL.” Oouedraogo is a  sophomore TESOL major.

Karina Rohrer-Meck’s speech is titled “Everyday justice in your hands.” Rohrer-Meck is a sophomore nursing major.  Her speech will concentrate on driver safety.

Jair Hernandez’s speech is titled “Migrant farm workers.” Hernandez is a sophomore public relations major.

Michael Fecher’s speech is titled “The national anthem and the Anabaptist vision.” Fecher is a junior molecular biology and biochemistry major.  He will explore the possibilities of maintaining a peaceful community while upholding its values.

The contest participants will be judged on originality, integration of topic and peace position and general standards of delivery.

The first place winner will win $500, plus a chance to enter the Mennonite Central Committee C. Henry Smith Peace Oratorical Contest.  The second place winner will receive a $250 prize.

The trust of C. Henry Smith, a Mennonite historian and professor at Goshen and Bluffton (Ohio) colleges, funds the contest, which has been party of Goshen College’s history since the early 1900s.