Twenty-two students in Goshen College’s nursing program will be inducted into the Sigma Theta Tau Honor Society for Nursing (STTI) on Friday at 7 pm.

According to their official website, STTI is committed to supporting the “learning, knowledge, and professional development of nurses committed to making a difference in health worldwide.” Sigma, theta and tau are named after Greek words for love, courage and honor.

STTI is divided into 501 chapters that include nursing programs from around the world. The Goshen students will be inducted into the Nu Omicron-at-large chapter.

Gail Weybright, an associate professor of nursing at Goshen College, is the president of this chapter. “[The Nu Omicron-at-large chapter] also includes Bethel College and Saint Mary’s College,” she said. Bethel and Saint Mary’s are in Mishawaka and South Bend, Ind., respectively.

In order to be inducted into STTI, nursing students must achieve a certain level of academic success. “Students need to be in the top 35 percent of their class to qualify for induction,” Weybright said.


Basic BSN Program

Jessica Gotwals

Hannah Lake-Rayburn

Hannah Eberly

Liz Wiebe

Indigo Miller

Karina Rohrer-Meck

Nicole Green

Beth Yoder

Jenae Rupp

Cecily Valdez

RN to BSN Program

Cynthia Bailey

Denise Elsasser

Pam Chubb

Sally Hart

Crystal Maggard

Johnna Radford

MSN Inductees

Joe Bartush

E’Coe Hill

Tiffany Johnson-Bussberg

Debra Neubauer

Joyce Racz

Michelle Streb