Adding to the numerous broadcasting and radio awards already won for the Goshen College communication department, GC student journalists racked up 15 awards in the Indiana College Press Association's annual awards for 2011, and The Record ranked second overall in its newspaper division. The awards were presented on Saturday, April 2 in Bloomington, Ind.

Goshen College is in the association's Division III for non-daily newspapers with enrollment of less than 3,000. The awards cover the calendar year 2010, during which Marlys Weaver was the Record editor in the spring, and Laura Schlabach in the fall.

The awards are:

First place:

Breaking-news reporting: Kelsey Shue, Marlys Weaver and Chase Snyder, “Anthem premieres”

In-depth story: Laura Schlabach and Chase Snyder, “County command vehicle”

Opinion column: Matt Lehman, “Purls of wisdom”

Second place:

Overall design: Marlys Weaver and Laura Schlabach, Nov. 18, 2010

Single issue: Laura Schlabach and Marlys Weaver, Nov. 18, 2010

In-depth story: Hannah Groff and Lauren Morales, “Immigrants struggle”

Opinion column: Jeffrey Moore, “On being ‘part cow’”

Feature story: Laura Schlabach, “Bowing out”

Non-deadline story: Brett Bridges, Keith Beber and Kevin Kleptz, “Campus underpass decision at a standstill”

Feature photo: Andrea Kraybill, “Inferno inside the kiln”

Entertainment story: Josh Yoder, “Wailin Jennys voices”

Sports page design: Laura Schlabach, Oct. 14, 2010

Sports photo: Martin Brubaker, “Taking on Spring Arbor”

Editorial cartoon: Michael Neumann, “Becoming a .5”

Third place:

News or feature series: Marlys Weaver, Kelsey Shue and Emily Taylor, “Radicals replace flags”